Rachel Lole is a Sydney based Jazz Vocalist and Composer. Rachel spent three years under the tuition of leading Australian jazz artists Vince Jones and Kristin Berardi where she completed a Bachelor of Music at the ANU School of Music. Rachel is an experienced performer, with performances at the Lodge, Canberra for Julia Gillard (2013), Parliament House for Prime minister Tony Abbott (2014), Floriade Rhythm and Blooms Festival, Capital Jazz Project and jazz festivals in Melbourne, Sydney and the south coast of NSW. Rachel is a versatile performer and is one of Australia's up and coming Jazz Vocalists. Rachel has produced a body of original compositions that feature emotion filled lyrics and reflect her musical influences.

The most promising young jazz vocalist I've heard

Vince Jones

Black Tulip is a new Sydney-based band led by Dutch pianist Casper Tromp. The band explores the borders of jazz and classical music. Expect an adventurous concert with the warm sounds of film music, interesting dissonances of modern classical and the improvisation and energy that comes with jazz.
The band comprises the young talents Evan Harris on saxophone, James Heazlewood-Dale on double bass and Alex Hirlian on drums.
Casper Tromp - piano & compositions
Evan Harris - tenor and soprano saxophone
James Heazlewood-Dale - bass
Alex Hirlian - drums

Luke moved down from Canberra a couple of years ago, and is now an integral member of half a dozen bands, with two original albums under his own name.  He's toured Asia and Europe and blah blah blah you know.  What's great is that he is actively exploring the sounds and the culture of Australian jazz, composing and improvising with everyone he can, bringing together themes and styles and (as with so many players of his generation) forging a new local style to take to the global stage.  And he's good at it.

They'll be playing tunes from Luke's recent album People and Lightbulbs and a bunch of new material.

Luke Sweeting - piano
Ken Allars
- trumpet
Matt Keegan
- tenor sax
Luke Sweeting
- piano
James Heazlewood-Dale
- double bass
Finn Rya
n - drums


Aaron Blakey is a jazz pianist originally from New Zealand.
Before moving to Sydney, Aaron spent three years living in Japan as an active pianist on the Tokyo Jazz Scene. The Aaron Blakey Quartet will be presenting a variety of original tunes that Aaron has composed, based on various experiences from his times in Auckland, Tokyo, New York and Sydney, as well as some cool standards.
Aaron will be joined by Mike Rivett, James Heazlewood Dale and James Waples. Each of these wonderful musicians brings their own voice to the tunes.
Look forward to a fantastic night of music!

Aaron Blakey (piano)
Mike Rivett (tenor sax)
James Heazlewood Dale (bass)
James Waples (drums)



Pianist and composer Luke Sweeting is touring his new album People and Lightbulbs. Capturing the energetic, textural and inquisitive compositions of the band over the last few years, the music is inspired by some great contemporary musicians like Alister Spence, Andrea Keller, Brad Mehldau and Florian Ross. His sextet features an incredible combination of improvisers: Ken Allars (tpt), Matt Handel (sax), James Greening (bone), James Heazlewood-Dale (db bass) and Finn Ryan (drums).
Making a recent move to Sydney, Luke has spent the last few years performing extensively around his hometown Canberra, with various heavy weights like trumpet legend Miroslav Bukovsky (of Wanderlust fame) and has had a lot to do with the ANU School of Music; finishing his masters study under the Dennis Griffin Scholarship and also lecturing for the pre-tertiary program. Luke won the 2010 Sprogis Woods Composition Competition, and has performed around Australia, at the Magnetic Island Jazz Festival, the Canberra International Music Festival, regularly performing for famous silent film screenings at the National Sound and Film Archive as well as performing solo piano at Shanghai World Expo in 2010. Luke has released a few albums as a sideman and collaborator: an intimate duo project with soprano virtuoso Rachael Thoms titled The Great Unknown as well as the debut release with the 2012 Generations in Jazz vocal winner Liam Budge.

Ken Allars - trumpet
Matt Handel
- alto
James Greening - trombone
Luke Sweeting - piano
James Heazlewood-Dale - double bass
Finn Ryan - drums