"The music and more is, truly, out of this world.. this is an intergalactic love song dedication that knows no peer" Lloyd Bradford Syke, Australian Stage

Ephemera Ensemble: a musical exploration of celestial landscapes such as pulsars, craters, planetary atmospheres, stars, sun and void. Merging the sound worlds of jazz, classical, experimental and flamenco, and set to real space recordings, the performances create an original sonic experience. Playing music composed by Keyna Wilkins, the ensemble comprises Keyna Wilkins (piano/flute) Elsen Price (double bass/loop pedal), and Will Gilbert (trumpet) and includes freely improvised sections.

NASA recordings of electromagnetic waves from planets and stars is the backdrop soundtrack and has been constructed by astrophysicist Professor Paul Francis. Each member brings their own unique voice to the ensemble drawing from a multitude of musical backgrounds. Elsen is a new music specialist, Damian is a versatile world musician, Will is a jazz trumpeter and Keyna is a jazz/classical/flamenco musician and composer, who combine to create a distinctive sound world that organically react to stellar concepts. Universe and Universality.


September 31 (the origin of the name requires an e-mail to itself) was conceived some years ago as a vehicle for some original compositions dating from the early 1980's - while I was relocating to Australia from the UK - up to the present. From these early works I have arranged a suite, each movement of which recalls some tableau or natural phenomenon which made a deep impression on me at the time and which has stayed with me. My avatars include Ellington, Mingus (both of whom I had the good fortune to to see live) Monk, Kurt Weill and of course the other members of the Band who all something refreshing and diverse to bring to the table.

 Personnel of S.31  FH - trumpet/flugel/cornet
                               Elisabeth Kelvin - soprano/tenor sax, clarinet/bass clarinet
                               Leon Dennis - trombone/trumpet/flugel
                               Kees Steen - guitar
                               Elsen Price - double bass/bass guitar
                               Josh Salter - drums/percussion