Thursday, 24 November 2016 20:00

Tomomi Takahashi

Tomomi Takahashi at Colbourne Ave Tomomi Takahashi at Colbourne Ave

The much-awaited return of Tomomi Takahashi, this time with a nine-piece band.

"Into the Starry Sky" will feature original piano compositions by Tomomi, orchestrated for her large jazz ensemble.  The kind of music you don't hear very much, because it's very difficult to write, rehearse, and perform.  But for us, she's doing it.

Jay Byrnes : saxes
Anne-Marie Brade : violin and viola
Mary Rapp : cello and double bass
Pete Atkins : drums
Ben Crocker : euphonium
Meredith Cheng : voice
Meg Collis : flute
Esther Lamb : voice
and of course
Tomomi Takahashi : pianist and composer