Thursday, 01 July 2004 10:00


1st july 2004


Winner of the Inaugural Bell Award
For Australian Jazz Musician of The Year 2003

"This is world class contemporary music performed by some of the very best exponents in this country."

John McBeath, Adelaide Advertiser, 01/09/03

Sandy Evans is recognised as one of the leading saxophonists (tenor and soprano) and composers in contemporary jazz in Australia.She leads the Sandy Evans Trio. Formed in 2001, this trio sees eminent saxophonist and composer Sandy Evans return to the classic saxophone trio format. Regular performances in Australia, a tour of Europe and the release of their first CD ’Not In The Mood’ have established the band’s reputation as one of the finest in the country.

With the trio, Sandy renews her long association with outstanding drummer Toby Hall. Sandy and Toby are known for their exciting work together in bands such as Clarion Fracture Zone and The catholics. Completing the line up is sensational bassist Brett Hirst who replaced Brendan Clarke in the bass chair in 2003.

A stunning, tight improvising unit that thrills, inspires and delights.The repertoire is mostly Sandy’s compositions. Fresh interpretations of tunes from the standard jazz repertoire, like ’Peace On Earth’ by John Coltrane, and arrangements of traditional Asian music such as the Korean Chant by Zen master Hye Yeon Sun Sa also feature.